Tuesday, December 22, 2009

Pepsi Cheer Contest

Contest for NHL Behind the Scenes Facebook group members; http://www.insidethelockerroom.com readers, and http://insidethenhl.ning.com/ members: Qualify to receive a cheer gear package if sign up at link below and send me a note on who was the captain of the 1998 Canadian Men's team in Nagano. Deadline January 31.

Send me a note at gridironchick@hotmail.com


Wednesday, December 16, 2009

Roughnecks and NLL Ready for 2010

Calgary Roughnecks players admit they have to shed the championship hangover and look at 2010 with fresh eyes. There are some changes in the new lineup, namely at the coaching helm. Dave Pym, a long-time assistant, takes over as head coach. Rod Jensen and Curt Malawsky provide a supporting role as his assistants.

The Riggers head to Lethbridge, Alberta on Saturday, December 19 for an exhibition game against the Edmonton Rush at the ENMAX Centre (7:30 PM).

In other NLL news, Colin Doyle returns to the Toronto Rock after a blockbuster trade on Tuesday December 15. He was sent to Toronto from the Washington Stealth with a conditional second round 2012 draft pick in exchange for Lewis Ratcliff, Tyler Codron, and Joel Delgarno. Doyle is the third player in NLL history to amass over 900 points. He has never missed a playoff in his career, won five Champion's Cups with the Rock (before he was traded to San Jose December 2006), and was the NLL Most Valuable Player in 2005.

In another trade, Ryan Powell was sent to the Edmonton Rush from Colorado Mammoth, which turned into a three-way deal, as Callum Crawford went from the Rush to Colorado, who sent him to Minnesota for Chad Culp.

Eight-year vet with Buffalo, Pat McCready, was sent to Toronto with a third round draft pick in exchange for three draft picks. Meanwhile, the Bandits cemented Mark Steenhuis to its lineup with a five-year contract.

Tracey Kelusky, Calgary Roughnecks

Andrew McBride, Calgary Roughnecks

Bruce Cobb, Calgary Roughnecks, recovering from dental oral surgery

Jeff Shattler, Calgary Roughnecks

Labels: , , , ,

Tuesday, December 15, 2009

Jayna Hefford leads Team Canada to 6-2 win over US

This was the fourth game in a six-game series between the Canada and United States national women's teams. So far, this season, Canada holds a 4-0-0-3 record against the US, Canada's and an all time record of 52-35-1.

Bob Nicholson presents long-time women's star Hayley Wickenheiser with an award before the start of the game. She is the first female hockey player in Canadian history to hit a career 300 points. She scored it on September 1 against Finland.

Team US opened the scoring with a power play goal at 11:51 of the first period: Meghan Duggan from Jinelle Zaugg-Siergiej and Kelli Stack.

Caroline Ouellette tied it up at 17:42 from an assist by Jayna Hefford.

Team US took a 2-1 lead in the second period with a power play goal by Jocelyne Lamoureux from Karen Thatcher at 4:44.

Canada came right back at 10:44 to tie it up with a goal by Jayna Hefford from Caroline Ouellette and Meghan Agosta. The team then took the go-ahead goal at 16:39 -- Hefford's second goal of the game from Meghan Agosta. Marie-Philip Poulin cements at two-goal lead to end the period at 18:38 (power play) from Catherine Ward and Caroline Ouellette.

Canada finished the game with a 6-2 win. Things got a bit rough at the 13-minute mark when a few roughing penalties were handed out in bunches.

The next time these teams meet will be in St. Paul, Minnesota.

Did You Know?

*Canada won its 200th game against the US on October 5, 2009 (3-1).

*September 3, 2009 was goalie Shannon Szabados' first loss (2-4 versus US). Up to that point, her record was 9-0.

*Jayna Hefford is the second Canadian female to play her 200th game against the US. Only Hayley Wickenheiser has made the 200-game mark.

* Jenny Potter is the only mother on Team US. Her daughter Madison is eight, and son Cullen is two.

*Jocelyne and Monique Lamoureux are the first twins and first sisters on a US national team.

*Jessie Vetter was named the Sportswoman of the Year by the Women's Sports Foundation -- the first ice hockey player to receive it.

Learn more about Team Canada at www.hockeycanada.ca. Team US has a fan club at www.nscsports.org. 

Labels: , , , ,